An Update..

 

goldings-hill-pond-in-autumn

 

Well, its been ages since I posted.. This will be the last entry on this blog which has become a bit of an old friend and will be missed.

I thought I would round things off by sharing the happy new’s I did pass the assessment. Whoo Hoo!

Since then I have kept up with the drawing, although not as much as I should have. I even entered a couple of pieces for the Pastel Society exhibition that will be at The Mall Galleries in March. One work got long listed so I had to transport the fragile soft pastel drawing in its frame (see above) on a busy Saturday tube and then across a rain soaked Trafalgar square to be sent on a bit of a wild goose chase to find the drop of office.

It was quite comical really. When I asked the main desk at the Mall gallerias ‘is it signed to the drop of office?’.

The reply came, ‘Oh,Yes’ accompanied with a wide eyed blink.

Needless to say there where no signs so 15 minutes was spent trudging around with my bin liner rapped offering trying to find said office. I keep seeing fellow sodden and bewildered artists walking in various directions with there own master pieces held aloft..

Any way, I did find the office in the end. Unwrapped and left my work with all the others to face the dreaded panel of doom! (the judges). They didn’t go for my piece this year. 😦 so  a return journey was taken a few days later to collect the awkward article and return home with it.. This felt like the art worlds equivalent of the walk of shame.

After a 24 hour sulk where I vowed to give up art forever… I have now come to the more positive conclusion. That I will endeavour to create something that they can not ignore for next years show. In other words.. ‘I’ll be back Pastel Society!!’ ( said in an Arnold Schwarzenegger voice).

So although I didn’t get picked (this year) I never would have even considered entering before this drawing corse. It’s made me keener than ever to continue drawing and painting.

Also I have left the inter-web just moved house. So if you’d like to see what I’m up to these days please come and have a look at my new site emmaperring.com

Good luck to all the other Drawing Skills students out there..

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

4 comments

  1. Tanya

    Dear Emma,
    Well done on completing the course. I am a fellow drawing one student and have followed your blog. I love the drawings of your dog. I am just starting section five, it seems like a long haul to assessment.
    Tanya

    • Hi Tanya,
      Thank you for stopping by the blog.
      It’s a hell of a lot of work we all get done to finally get to the end. But take it from me it feels fantastic when you finally get there. A real achievement!

      Best of luck with section 5 and assessment.

      Emma
      🙂

  2. Hi Emma – I think you have fantastic talent – wishing you all the best for whatever you decide to do in the future,

    Arlene

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

