Ten of the Best

So now I have to pull out 10 of the best bits to go along with my assignment pieces for final assessment.

The short list.. I have only included lose works as the sketchbook stuff has relevant stuff on its reverse page side.

 

Part Five – Observation in Nature:

titch-tone

My favourite tonal drawing that I have done. I thin this ones a defiant.

 

oilpastel-titch

I really like this oil pastel. I think this one is in the top 10 also.

 

detail

Here’s a maybe – Psychedelic dreaming dog.

 

cow7

I like these cows, A1 line drawing in caracole. There a defiantly maybe.

 

 

Part Four – Drawing Figures:  (Most of this work is in the sketch book)

moving-self

Scary but does demonstrate some expressionism.. maybe?

lady2

Expressive drawing – Study from sculpture of Virgile Ittah.. A maybe

guy

Expressive drawing – Study from sculpture of Vergile Ittah.. A maybe

seb05

Classical drawing made at a LARA workshop. Should I include this? Is it aloud?

 

 

 

Part Three -Drawing Outdoors:

veiw-dev01

Study for assignment 3

 

tone-oilpastel

Study for assignment 3

 

limited-palette

Tonal drawing of Bishop’s Stortford Cannel

landscape-softpastel

Landscape drawing from the car observing out of window. Finished off at later date by scraping pigment from soft pastel with palette knife and sprinkling on drawing. then squashing this pigment in with pallet knife to pleasing effect that helps to create atmosphere. I would like to include this in top 10 I think.

 

Part Two –  Observation in Nature

a2-chalk

A2 soft pastel and water colour pencil study.

friut-veg

I was really chuffed with this one. I even entered it in the Derwent drawing prize, my first attempt at an open exhibition. Needles to say it didn’t get selected. 😦 It still defiantly makes the top ten.

 

3dahlia

3 chrysanthemum in charcoal. Tonal study from life. This is in sketchbook, but might be worth sacrificing other side for.

finish-drawing

Colour pencil Lilies. I must confess on the real thing the colour is not so saturated. Although I’m happy with the shapes and pencil work it might be to faint to use as a final piece?

fish-on-dish2

Fish on a dish. Bright and breezy soluble water colour drawing.

 

applesandpears

Apples and pears. I like the light impressionistic nature of this one. Not over worked.

 

Part one – Mark making and Tone

large-glass-study

Nice bit of mixed media. shame the perspectives a bit wonky.. Shows experimentation. Top 10?

 

2013-03-03 17:03

If all else fails there’s the supermarket shop..

I’v narrowed it down to 19 so far.. Any suggestions?

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

3 comments

  1. Emma, definetely include that classical drawing of the man’s body. It is absolutely great! Tone work is so fine. Very very good.
    Good luck!

  2. Emma, I would add your pastel bright red and blue Bullock (the massive form and tone are well showed with bold marks, quite animated as no unnecessary details) and your water colour experiment, for example, Two Horses to the list (I just think it is so beautiful to look at). And I would add your figure charcoal drawings (if you are not sending them in your sketchbook of course).

    • Hi Anyuta,

      Thanks for suggestions. It can be hard to chose! I think ‘Sebastian’ (the model from the 30 hour pose) is going in. Interesting you like the cow stuff. My tutor likes those also so they will most likely go.. This course seems never ending! 😉

      All the best with your studies also

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

