Personal Evaluation for Assignment Five

oilpastel-titch

Demonstration of technical and visual skills:

Materials – I have used a range of material in a range of ways. I explored water colour in more depth as I wanted to as well as using oil pastel pencil, charcoal and conte pencil. I would have liked to have done some dog more considered studies with soft pastel but didn’t get round to it.

Techniques – I tried to step away from the obvious with the techniques used. For instance building up thick dash marks with oil pastel in a sort of pointillist way. Trying lots of new and varied  techniques with water colour in attempts to find different textures. I experimented with collage, not very successfully but sowing the seeds of ideas for further development.

Observational skills – I feel these are improving with practise. I did a sizeable amount of observing form life. Including going to a small holding to draw foul and goats, visiting horses in the field and making many observational drawings of dogs, some quick some more considered.

Visual Awareness –  I am becoming more conscious of what works and what doesn’t. I view my subject armed with far more knowledge than I did  a year ago so know how to depict what I want. My skill level has also improved so I am better and quicker at representing the chosen subject. In this case dogs.

Design and compositional skills – Improving. The final drawing is not such a great example of this. Usually I favour a composition with dog near filling the page. I like this and think it works, the final drawing may yet be cropped.

 

Quality of Outcome:

Content – Not bad. Much improved looking back on earlier assignments. I’m finally managing to work towards a finished piece instead of wildly trying out lots of different ideas.

Application of knowledge – Now I have more of an idea what media and methods will produce what. It is a natural progression.

Presentation of work in a coherent manor –  Yes, I think I’m getting much better at this. Although I did go off on a wild tangent around exercise 6 and 7 I feel confident I managed to swing it a back to a sensible conclusion for the assignment work.

Discernment – I still go off on tangents now and again but its getting easier to know what will work and what won’t before I begin a piece or project.

Conceptualisation of thoughts – I had hoped to include some of the experiences and textures of the walks I enjoy with the dogs into the studies of the sleeping dog some how. I experiment with this but decided not to use it in the assignment work as a want just an honest portal of a sleeping dog.

Communication of ideas –  I hope that I communicate my ideas well on the blog though picture and word.

Demonstration of Creativity:

Imagination – I hope I have demonstrated some imaginative approaches along with the straight studies. Again please see exercises 6-7 also exercise 1.

Experimentation – Yes, particularly with creating texture with water colour. lots of experimentation work here. However for the angst I deliberately went for a more traditional approach. I have found in the past experimenting on the final piece can be costly. Also I like the honesty you can achieve with representational (figurative) art.

Invention – Again see exercise 6-7 and the work for exercise one. Particularly the cow series where I let rip and just explored some ideas with no limitations, which was liberating.

Development of personal voice – I think I can see a personal voice coming through now. Especially in the assignment work. I hope to continue this into the painting as the oil pastels are painterly already.

Context:

Reflection – I have effected on the work I have produced at some length as always. It is helpful in understand what worked and what didn’t.

Research – I would have liked to have done more research. For instance look at some Toulouse lautrec animal gestural drawings,  Gwen John sympathetic cat studies, Rossa bonna’s working horse portrayals and a few current day artists representation of dogs and other animals. Saying that I am pleased with the limited research I have completed. I feel Freud is really relevant to how I wanted the assignment work to turn out. Also the article on Cecil Adlin help me gain a greater understanding for a successfully tonal drawing. The anatomical plates I unearthed are priceless. It’s a shame i didn’t get time to copy some.

Also a shame I ran out of time to make a trip to the Natural History Museum to draw from specimens.

Lastly I would have liked to have taken a whistle stop tour of animal representation through art history starting with cave paintings.. But decided early  on as time was short the practical must come first. I think this was the correct decision.

Critical Thinking –  As always this needs work. I still advent developed a more academic way of writing. Some thing to work on moving forwards.

 

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

