Still Alive – Contemporary Still life at The Mall Galleries

I though I would make a slight detour to pop in to this exhibition on the way to the BP portrait award exhibition.

This bite size exhibition at the Mall galleries shows some of the resent works from members of the Federation of British Artists. An interesting mix of media and styles is on display with some thing to suit all tastes.

If I could take home just one it would defiantly be ‘The Golden Cloth’ by Toby Wiggins Painted in a style that makes me think of Freud this painting seems to replace a figure with a cloth that is painted in a highly figurative way. I find the cloth such a powerful subject it captivates in the same way a figure would hold the attention. The precedence given to it makes me wonder it’s history as I would ponder the experiences of a human subject.

Helped by beautiful colour use with earthy tones surrounding the brilliant yellows of the undulating yards of cloth that is complemented by a light blue towel. This painting looks to have be lovingly created with much attention and care. Form and depth of field (helped by the reflection) have been dealt with in a very convincing manor. There is much to admire in this work. I hope it gets purchased by a public gallery as it deserves to be seen.

ce024fee53c77515d61922b971586d7c

Toby Wiggins RP “The Golden Cloth” Oil 85x69cm

It has got me thinking how nice the yellow dog (my chosen object) would look in a loverly old arm chair such as this. It would perhaps be the composition I have been searching for giving some height to what can be the very horizontal subject of a sleeping dog. I wonder if I could find an old one going for a song? Also I should take a note from this guy when it comes to painting (drawing in my case) fabrics.

 

Usually during the drawing module I am taking I try to pick subjects from gallery visits that relate well to drawing. However being as I am so close to getting the  paint brushes out now I think it is ok to look at two simple still life studies that I admire. When I say simple don’t be fooled I don’t mean easy to achieve or naive. Quite the opposite as I know how tricky it is to achieve simplicity (honesty) in painting a subject with out over working and muddying the work.

 

7a7f5d139bfd2faf402c4c5cda196803

Alex Fowler NEAC “March Rose” Oil 47x34cm

Alex Fowlers painting of a simple rose bud shows a harmonies use of colour with just enough information presented to us to imagine the real thing. I like this kind of impressionistic style of painting where object is seen in terms of colour/tone mass with fiddly detail deemed unnecessary. Harmony in the pallet makes it very pleasing to the eye which given the subject works well.

f190f50694833ab1b6cd081c65d2af52

James Lloyd RP “Paper Model” Oil 52x57cm

James Lloyd s painting has similarities, it is a study of a signal subject also represented in a painterly fashion. I find this subject more interesting as the original subject avoids cliché. Again harmonies can be seen, this time between the object and its environment. The origami shape seems quite at home in its natural surroundings. Which strangely makes me think of  a herd animal grazing in its appropriate habitat. I look forwards to trying some white on white paintings myself as I am all ways quite drawn to paintings of this matter. A wonderful way to explore the different tints and tons of shadow.

8c112699ef3b761fa99a276b346f05cd

Paul Curtis NEAC “Two Beaches and a Primula, Cornwall” Acrylic and oil 72x52cm

The work of Paul Curtis stood out to me for its original composition and textural way of layering the colours. It seems this artist uses a colourful under painting before adding grey tints on top. I might be wrong in my assessment. The colourful bits might be on top. but I like the idea of a colourful underpainting then layering more naturalistic tones over the top.

Perhaps in a nostalgic way I also like how the artist gets an impression of a radiant coastal view through his chosen back drop of a window. This has an interesting relationship with the oil sketch at the easel of  a coastal scene. I also like the way this painting is a little autobiographical. Showing the artists work place and environment.

Again these are nice colours that like each other. With the yellow pop of the primula helping the blue/green tones zing that gives a liveliness to this still life.

 

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

