Assignment 4 – Form

I managed to persuade my cosine to pose for me again. We did two 1 hour long poses with barks every so often. I set a stop watch for 15 minute intervals so she could stretch legs then repose.

form01

Final Drawing – A3 ingres paper, charcoal and chalk

form01a

high lights and mid tones

For this drawing I stood at an easel with my view point looking down. I drew in an out line with pen pencil. Then added highlights first with chalk. The single light source, a window above the sofa made for strong contrast which were fun to work with. I was conscious of working quickly to get as much info down as possible. I did some more work to add in more of the back ground detail  whilst the model (Charlotte) was not there. So all in all probably did an hour 40 on this one.

I wanted to use the mid tone paper as its some thing I feel I don’t use enough. Its such a valuable learning skill to think in terms of tone. I consciously focused on light highlight and shadow rather than colour vale differences. So the lightest ares are the ones catching the light fall. Although I did emphasise the white on the white ares such as shirt and blanket as the picture didn’t look quite right with out adding the additional chalk even to shadowed areas such as side plane and shadow fall of sofa.

I feel this is the stronger of the two drawings so will be putting this one forwards as the final drawing for assessment.

Form02

A2 – Graphite stick and pencils 2b – 6b

For the second drawing I wanted to channels John Singer Sergeants fab drawing style. Not quite on the money! Issue number 1 – Having left my A2 papers at home I had only this piece of Bockingford of A2 size that was in the boot f the car. I have taken to keeping a few art supplies in the car should the mood take me. Bockingford don’t really like graphite. It is an interesting footage effect however that might work nicely say for the texture of a dogs coat with the back ground done in some thing water soluble (another idea for part 5 maybe). However for what I had hoped to achieve it didn’t rally work.

Second issue – From the off, where the last drawing had worked, this one felt all wrong. I have come to realise through lots of drawing on this course if the drawing isn’t right fro the beginning there’s rarely any chance of improving it. The initial structural elements (under drawing) must be strong and look pleasing or you’ve lost before you’ve begain. But I had the model for an hours long pose so just carried on rather than start again as I was nearly half way through the time.

I was conscious of foreshortening. Even after some revision in reality I think the head looked smaller in comparison to the feet. The feet are not great and the raised arm and right torso lack any sense of volume really. I don’t like this drawing but feel I have learnt a little from the process. Any way.. got to move on. I am as ever behind schedule.

The first drawing is defiantly the better. I want to do more tone studies moving forward into part 5 as I feel I should be doing a lot more of these. These studies will be beneficial to my understanding of light fall as (when) I move on to painting.

On a final note.. SO HAPPY TO FINALY MAKE IT TO PART 5!  Not just because I’v nearly finished Drawing one: Drawing skills but because I’v been looking forward to taking some time to really get to grips with drawing animals since I started this course way back when in March 2013. Horra!

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

