Royal Society of Portrait Painters Annual Exhibition at the Mall Galleries

Week before last I ventured in to London town to see two exhibitions. Veronese which I will discuss in another post and The Royal Portrait Societies Annual exhibition at The Mall Galleries running from 8-23.5.14. There where, as you’d expect, many fine works on show. It technique was nice to see a mix of medium and technique catered for. The few works I’v selected to discuss here are draws as I wanted to keep it relevant to my own practise.

 

Jack-Joiner

Portrait – Jack Joiner 175 x 142cm (69 x 56 inches)Coloured Pencil on Paper (2013) Winner of “The Arts Club Charitable Trust Award” at The Royal Society of Portrait Painters Annual Exhibition 2014

This stunning self portrait by the 23 year old Jack Joiner is made using coloured pencil. I have read form an unaccredited source (another blog) that he used Derwit Colour Soft pencils. I add this fact for any one like myself who would really like to know. However I can not swear by the accuracy of the statement, I believe it to be true.

This online reproduction really does not do the drawing justice. At a whooping 69 x 56 inches it is certainly the largest colour pencil drawing I have ever come across. with in the body of the figure colourful cross hatching is easily visible building up the subtle nuances of the flesh tones. Its quite remarkable. I have never seen any thing quite like it before. You can see from this photo the detailing in the pattern of the rug and the cushion. The chaise longue is afforded the same hyper real attention. In the same way it seems every body hair and visible vein seems to be accounted for. There must have been some serious hours put into this.

I am guessing the artist worked from a photo to produce this drawing. I can not be sure but the fact the pose would not fit with the scale of the drawing. I think it impossible that he drew in this position. also looking at his other work on his web site I think photos play a role.

This talented young artist is one to watch.. I’m sure he will go on to have a fine carer in the arts. As always these young artist do leave me feeling a little depressed I did not start to get serious about art soon. There is only one thing for it.. Work harder!

 

 

'Eduardo' Andrew James, 2013,

‘Eduardo’ Andrew James, 2013, Charcoal on Paper 46 x 30 / 117 x 76

Picture 27

‘Mother and Child’ Andrew James, 2011, Charcoal on Paper 30 x 60 / 76 x 152

 

Andrew James had a several drawings and paintings displayed.  Eduardo shown above applied as I am interested in how artists get across movement in there drawings. The head of the sitter is shown in several positions implying movement.

The bottom image (mother and child) was not shown at this years exhibition. I came across it on the artists web site and liked it so much I had to include it here.

I love the style of both of these  monochrome drawings. They both show accuracy in the form and believable perspective. Some what in contrast to this I find is the very expressive use of the medium. A lively hand has built up the drawings in strong tonal contrasts. I like how elements such as the faces have been worked in a more ‘realistic’ style building up smooth tone that gives form. this balances nicely with the more expressive lines that give energy to the drawing.

His paintings also have lively visible brush strokes with a strong sense of form and a soiled structure at there foundation. Beautiful work.

 

References:

http://www.mallgalleries.org.uk/index.php?pid=2&subid=197

http://www.mallgalleries.org.uk/index.php?pid=2&subid=197

http://www.andrewjamesartist.co.uk/

http://www.jackjoiner.co.uk/

http://makingamark.blogspot.co.uk/p/major-uk-art-competitions.html

 

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

