Pr1 Proportions: Check and Log

Have you managed to make a complete statement in the time?

The body is not complete for the two minute poses but mostly for the longer ones there in at least one line to depict the body elements. Some of the 20 min poses I was able to make several drawings in the time. There where two models in this class which was brilliant. If  just one I’m sure I could get the basic info down in two mins.

How well have you captured the characteristics of the pose?

I think I have captured the characteristics of the poses ok.

Do the proportions look right? 

Over all I am pleased. It came quite easily in this class. I was really feeling the shapes. The last class I went to I struggled a lot more. This time I worked on A3, then on A1. What a difference it makes. What might be a small incorrectness on A3 or smaller becomes a large and noticeable one on the larger papers. Obvious really! Some thing to be aware of in future.

I can see I need to work on heads and faces form these drawings. In the Graphite drawing of model sitting,view frontal, 15 min pose the trunk on the body is too long. The trunk is in three parts and she has an extended abdomen like an insect!

I can see looking at these that care to get the width right on foreshortened limbs is critical to there successes. Otherwise they appear shrunken.

20min2

Left side – is the calf and foot foreshortened correctly? I love the shape of the knee, calf and foot (toes to be added increasing length a little). It’s a shame I ran out of time to see if it would have balanced correctly once the other leg was put down.

 

 

 

 

 

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

