Three Drawings after the Sculpture’s or Virgile Ittah

lady

lady2

guy

I was feeling the muse this afternoon. Felt the erg to be creative and make a mess.

These drawings are inspired by the sculptures I saw at Saatchi Gallery as part of the Body language series. The artist who created these sculptures id Virgile Ittah who I discussed in the Body Language visit write up.

I wanted to get across the nature of her moulded unfinished figures. Evidence of the artist hand is still present in the surface of the sculptures. I thought I’d have a crack at some mark making with ink, leaving finger tip, palm and knuckle marks. In this way the makers hand is still present as with the sculptures. Then I just had fun with some lose studies of the sculptures in charcoal. It was so nice to work in a lose and free style again. It’s been so long I’d forgotten what it felt like. I think I might be getting a little caught up trying to do a ‘perfect drawing’ that I the work gets tight and lacks feeling.

I’m really happy with these. They have a lot of potential to develop further both in part 4 figure drawing and also for my part 5 choice that I am already mulling over and look forwards too.

About Emma Perring

Artist, oil painter

One comment

  1. Fab! So loose and exciting 🙂

Leave a comment

Deb Anderson, painting

One a week, more or less

V.W. Artist Blog

Art awakens the soul.

Kathryn Duncan - Fine Art

Original Watercolor & Acrylic Paintings

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Charleston Through an Artist's eye

a blog about the history art and culture of Charleston and the Lowcountry of the Southern Islands

mycreativeresolution.wordpress.com/

Watercolor Lessons that unlock the artist within you!

LoethenDesign

Faith, Fashion, & Art with an edge!

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Art-Chap-Enjoin

Drawing, sketching, painting every day

Simply Painting

30 Paintings in 30 Days

A Painters Diary

31 Days 31 Paintings

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Funny, exciting and sometimes action-packed vegan-friendly children's comics, stories, picture books and nursery rhymes, FREE TO READ HERE and available in paperback from our bookshop.

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings from the studio of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Beautiful Birds in the Native Habitat

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

Alison MacPherson: Drawing Skills 1

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Capricious Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential