Pr3-Ex3: A Limited Palette Study from your Sketches

limited-palette

  • A3 ingress
  • Conte pencils. White, Burnt Sienna 62 p, and Umber 79 b.

I chose this view to develop from the sketches as it had a fair amount of buildings in it as well as an expanse of water to get to grips with. Also I like the composition with the sky mirroring the shape of the water and the buildings enlarging horizontally towards the edges from a Vanishing point around the centre. Below I take a personal critic of the drawing so I start recognising what I like and what can be improved when I am drawing. By writing down in this way if I don’t remember I can look back. Hopefully this method will help me improve.

Likes:

  • It was a good exercise to get to grips with tone.
  • The perspective is passable as are the proportions.
  • I am please with my selections and the bits I have chosen to leave out.
  • I was conscious of arial perspective which I think I have got to work in this drawing. The far distant buildings such as the church spire could have been fainter still or a little white on top to suggest mist.
  • The trees on the left. (Four in a row) work better that the saplings on the right which I attempted first. The left hand trees have a sense of form in the trucks. I deliberately fade out the twigs more the further from the trunk they got using lighter pressure and a sharp point. I also lightly smudges so of the very end twigs to soften. Lately I have become a bit of a tree spotter! Spending a fair bit of time staring at them. I have noticed that at the ends you don’t really see the individual twigs but a smudge of an in between colour and value of the sky and twigs. Looking at some paintings of trees I am now noticing some painters emulate this perfectly. Again a reminder to draw what I see not what I know.
  • The waters ok. I think you can tell its water. The elliptical waves expanding from the for most duck are two circular. they should be squashed more horizontally.

Dislikes:

  • It is to faint. Like an under drawing and there for looks unfinished. The camera has actually improved the image as it has increased the contrast. The real thing is a bit more wishy  washy.
  • Way to much under colour showing (the papers). Again making it look unfinished. I tried to use the paper tone as a mid value. The Umber for dark  and both light burnt sienna and white for high lights. I have seen this method use to get uber 3D looking effects. Yet my attempt at form is looking sadly flat. Maybe I should have worked it some more? Maybe using a black for the darkest darks would help?
  • I whimped out on putting in the balconies due to time ad under the excuse of simplification. In truth I was worried the angles would be off and through the drawing.
  • The windows far left are out of kilter vertically. Oops!
  • I think Perhaps the tooth of the ingress paper that works so nicely with soft pastels in really a bit ruff for conte pencil. I used a paper stump to work the sediment into the groves but as I did this it also faded out the pigment. Maybe a smother surface would be more pleasing to work with when using conte pencils.
  • The ducks probably don’t stand out enough and at first might not be recognisable. I’m happy with there shapes. Again I think a spot of black could have helped here.
About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

4 comments

  1. Hi Emma I think it’s a very accomplished piece of work – I can see what you mean about the tone being a little flat perhaps it just needs some black as you say or even a dark inky blue maybe – but nevertheless I think it’s a beautiful drawing – if I could draw that well I would be very happy!

    • Thanks Arlene,

      Inky blue sounds interesting! good idea.
      You can certainly paint very well! and I think your course time keeping way better than mine.. One day I WILL meet a deadline 😉

  2. Ah deadlines! I’m going to miss my next one – but I’m sure it’s more important to take time to thoroughly investigate and feel like you’ve done your work justice 🙂

    • I agree. If there’s a part I want to spend a bit more time on I do. I think the main thing is to both enjoy the course and get what we want out of it. That’s more important to me that the grade I think.
      It’s all the times I don’t hit the course work at all that needs amending!
      Back to the books then.. How ever frustrating the learning can get I know I’ll miss it when it’s over. Thankfully a long way of yet.
      Keep drawing!

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

