Pr3-Ex2: A Sketchbook of Townscape Drawings

townsketch10cm

10x10cm drawing – 4B pencil

townsketch02

Bishop’s Stortford cannel and tow path. Can you tell its water???

townsketch03

Bishop’s Stortford cannel. Behind M&S

townsketch05

Bishop’s Stortford cannel. Behind M&S in colour

townsketch06

Bishop’s Stortford Cannel and large industrial building

townsketch07

Bishop’s Stortford Cannel and large industrial building in colour

townsketch08

Bishop’s Stortford cannel – View from bridge

townsketch09

Bishop’s Stortford cannel – View from bridge in colour

For this ‘sketch book of townscape drawings’ exercise I Went to Bishop’s Stortford town and walked about 100 meters along the cannel. 8 or so years ago this stretch of water was a toxic green colour with beer cans and old shopping trollies lurking amidst the rest of the man made detritus. Now the trollies have been replaced with colourful barges and the bear cans by ducks and the occasional swan. The old ware houses have been replaced with attractively designed dwelling places.

I chose this location as I really wanted to have a crake at drawing water. So though I could combine both buildings and water on this location. I’m not sure I’v quite got the hang of the water. In future I must be careful not to let the surface appear as if if bulges up in the middle. Water doses not act like that. Particularly in the last soft pastel drawing the canal could be easily mistaken for a path. In some of the drawing it is unclear the tow path and the cannel are very different elements.  I would like to take some time to study water in much more detail. But this must wait for now. As ever I’m very behind with the course work.

As for the buildings. I did find the brand new apartment complex a little dull as its so straight and new, lacking character. I tried to stay aware of how the angles alter up and down the buildings. Imagining the v.p and drawing (mostly) horizontally towards it. I think I managed this ok. By far the hardest part was the balconys. They are so small and fiddle. the angles of the base of the balconies that make a trapezium are so slight. A tiny bit wrong and they look terrible. Perhaps for the next exercise I might even cheat and use a protractor just for these. although then I run the risk of the drawing becoming more like a draft than a bit of art.

The most interesting structure was.. I have no idea what it is!. It has four huge cylinders attached to a rectangular building. It looms over the cannel and echo’s the former use of the water way as a functional logistic device rather than a quaint water way. I’m happy with the quick sketches I made of this. The size and dominance of the structure in the situation is apparent.

sketchtown01

A beginning

twonsketch04

A beginning

I wanted to log a record of these beginnings. As with these two sometimes I find some thing gets lost as the picture grows. I love these beginnings. The texture of the chalk/ charcoal on the paper. The contrast of mark and negative space. The semi-abstract nature. The more detail added the busier the drawing become. These are clean and I find them quite peaceful. Like Japanese ink drawings less is more. Some thing I want to bare in mind and ponder as I move forwards. I’m not sure what the answer is yet. The question is how can I hold on to these clean shapes, colours and textures but also build up the image further?

tonwsketchbook

notes

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

2 comments

  1. Beautiful sensitive sketches Emma – love ‘the beginnings’ !

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

