Pr1: A Sketch Book Drive

sketchwalk01

Conte pencil – A4

s-w02

Charcoal – A4 x A5 sketchbook

s-w-3

Charcoal and ball point pen – A5

s-w04

Drawing chalk – A5

s-w05

Chard stick (remnants of bonfire) clump of earth – A2

s-w06

Conte over marbled paper – A4 – The white marks are seagulls rising on the air currents. They would be more visible in paint.

s-w07

Conte over marbled paper – A4 – Spiny of trees

s-w08

Felt tip over marbled paper – A4 x A5 landscape sketch book

These drawings where ment to be exercise one a sketchbook walk. But having re-read the criteria for the exercise I think perhaps I will do it again as these drawings are not really what was asked for.

All of these studies are made from life. I think you can see from the energy of these drawings how excited I am to be moving away from the dreaded fruit and vegetables to a subject far closer to my heart that inspires me no end.

As it was a day with frequent bouts of showers followed sunshine followed by a deluge I decided to drive rather than walk. This option also appealed as I could easily take multiple sketch books and drawing implements and the steering well doubled up as a handy desk I used from the comfort of the driving seat. I drove up a farm track which I am very familiar with. It has hills and dips. from the hill tops I am treated to wonderful vistas across agricultural fields which change in harmony with the seasons. I hope this to be the first trip of many to take in this subject.

The above drawings are in the order they where drawn. They where each 5 minutes to 20 minutes in the making. The marbled papers I have kept for years now. I made a hole batch, some of which I went on to mono-print. The rest I kept knowing I would use them one day. There surfaces make me think of landscapes so I decide to utilise them here. Something I want to explore further. The last drawing with the Van Gogh ish style trees works nicely as the red marble reflects the autumnal season well.

The most experimental drawing is the one using earth and charred stick. This made one hell of a mess in the car but I like the immediacy of it. I think this nods to the howling winds that hummed around my safe haven in the warm car.

the one that describes form the best is the charcoal and ball point. The clouds have worked well in this one. I think you can tell I slowed down a little for this one. With the sketch book walk exercise I intend to slow right down and really concentrate on getting the form, lights and darks, as good as I can. As well as being aware of fore, middle and distance as suggested.

This drive was so much fun. I’m glad I got some of the ideas swirling round in my  head down on paper so as to remember them. Also I am pleased that I think I have depicted the weather conditions reasonably well. As this is the energy of nature which I want to be present in my drawings.

2pheasents

Duelling Pheasants

pheasent

Conte – Pheasant

I was treated a spot of ballet from two passing cock pheasants which displayed to each other as the passed. I made these two weak studies as they went. It sure is tough drawing moving animals! something I must work on.

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

2 comments

  1. Wonderful set of landscape sketches – your passion shines through!

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

