A few sketches

dancing-horses

Drawing ink – horses in a Chines style after Shen Qi Zhao.

sunset-horse

Conte – sunrise with horse

A couple of sketches to get my new sketch book started. I’v had my eye on this leather bound hard backed sketchbook with A4 demotion width ways and A5 in height for some time. So to celebrate making to part three, landscape dawning, I have treated myself to it as I think the dimensions are perfectly suited to the subject in hand and such I convenient size I intend to keep in in my hand bag and take it with me where ever I go.

The first ink study was taken from looking at the ink drawn horses of professor Shen Qi Zhao. Who is a traditional chines painting master. I picked up a leaflet of an exhibition of his work I had missed by days on a recent trip to Verden in Germany. Interested by the subject matter, as I hope all this art study will perhaps culminate in myself becoming a painter of equines, I have since done a little research on line. I also realise through my studies I am quite intrigued by artist that use ink.

Shen Qi Zhoa is German born and spends a lot of his time visiting studs for inspiration. He says of the horse

Horses are the loyal friends of human beings, standing for victory, progress and affections.’ (Shen Qi Zhoa)

His ink drawings are drawn with different brushes of long scrolls on news print paper. These can be as long as 8 meters and 2 meters wide. He starts with the ink on the black page and if a mistake is made he tares it up and starts afresh. It is said he has ripped up thousands of drawings over his life time so that the ones that make to to public viewing maintain a high standard of accuracy in the finish.

The second drawing here is a quick sketch from a pic taken on the iphone whilst feeding the fields horses at sun rise. Which can be a spiritually up lifting experience being so close to the miracle of the natural world. It marks the start of the landscape ball a’rolling.

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

One comment

  1. Hi Emma – the horses are just beautiful so flowing and full of energy – I love them!

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

