Assignment 2: Personal Evaluation

Part two has been a bit of a roller coaster for me. From feeling board and despondent at the start as it felt like repeating part one. Which intern felt like repeating the foundation course I took a few years ago. This lead to very slow beginnings. I regained interest again after the stippling as it then began to feel like covering some new ground with new techniques and the introduction of coloured media which makes it much more fun. Then followed a minor crises of confidence in my artistic abilities which left me with a mild case of drawers block. I’m sure we all go through from time to time. I am pleased to say my confidence and enthusiasm for drawing returned by assignment two and although I would have like to have produced a more finished final drawing after the green one I am pleased I have explored the media used in part two to my satisfaction. I am looking forward to part 3 where I can broach a new subject armed with all techniques I have picked up in part two.

Demonstration of technical and visual skills:

Materials – I tried to use as many of the materials used in the exercise for the assignment which I have done all bar marker pens which I can’t say I’m that taken with. I used mixed media in most the assignment drawings.

Techniques – I wanted to used as many of the techniques practised in the exercises. I am happy I incorporated quite a few + some new ones with drawing ink.

Observational skills – I am pleased with my observational skills in the first drawing. Even here there are errors in scale and perspective, but I don’t think they harm the over all effect of the drawing. For tight rigourous drawing I will aim to be more accurate by measuring (holding up pencil) in the first stage of marking in the drawing. For more impressionistic drawings I think wonky perspective and scale can add to the immediacy of the drawing and can lend to a laid back charm. Destroyed perspective can also point to the mood of the artist. I know my drawings turn out quite different depending on my mood.

Working from life has been hugely beneficial to me. I find it much easier to get thing right first time than I did at the begging of the course. I also appreciate how you can see the subject on so many levels. Look in to the detail, zoom in and out of compositions, get the colours accurate to life. All of which you can not do from a photo.

Visual Awareness – Perhaps I have showed visual awareness by noticing interesting every day compositions that occur naturally round the house? Although I appreciate what interests me may boar others.

Design and compositional skills – I was particularly pleased with the design and composition of the first drawing. I balanced it up in the early stages by adding the empty wine bottle on the left to balance the plant on the right. I think I may have missed this earlier on in my drawing journey. I am also happy with the composition of the final piece. The eye goes to the colourful fruit in the centre wonders around the plastic bag then goes to the green back ground. I like that this drawing works from a distance and would not get lost on a wall of  other art works.

I have notice that I favour quite a zoomed in composition with the subject filling nearly filling the page. I put this down to taking lots of pictures with my SLR camera (just for fun). It has made me become aware of framing a scene. Which I think has help me to compose drawing.

Quality of Outcome:

Content – I think there is just about enough content. Would have liked one large drawing more. I think all the prep work is relevant to the out come. I think it shows progression.

Application of knowledge – I tried to use what was learnt in part two. I think my assignment work demonstrates this. Personally I can also see the influence of the Saatchi gallery visit in my last drawing.

Presentation of work in a coherent manor –  I think my log blog shows the progression of the ideas and development of techniques serficantly.

Discernment – I do find myself wanting to explore every possible avenue. I am an indecisive person and always like to try and leave ever door ajar hoping between ideas that can often leave me feeling overwhelmed and producing a messy out come. For this exercise I wanted to be really experimental. One more drawing would have seen me bring the ideas together in a more discerning way. Some thing I must be aware of moving forwards.

Conceptualisation of thoughts – I think I get my thoughts across ok in the blog.

Communication of ideas – Through notes in sketch book, drawing and the log blog I am happy I have communicated my ideas.

Demonstration of Creativity:

Imagination – I have tried to use an imaginative approach to the brief for the assignment. Seeing where I can push the boundaries of what is asked for.

Experimentation – Experimentation was the name of the game for me in this assignment. I let lose and did not worry if the out come was rubbish as I really wanted to explore ideas and test out different media together. I did a lot of experimentation with inks after being inspired by the work of Storm Thorp. This is a medium I only started using recently and feel this experimentation has helped me understand its qualities and down falls as well as opening the door for more research.

Invention – I think the last drawing shows inventiveness using the white rectangle in the middle as a reference to the window in earlier drawing. I tried to be innovative with the methods used. Examples of this are stilling over the ink fruits to help with form and individual identity in the last drawing. Also using opaque media such as soft pastel over ink and oil pastel to truly put the bag over the fruit rather than drawing as a whole.

Development of personal voice – Looking at the drawings for assignment two as a whole I think you can tell they are by the same person. They do become progressively loser. I don’t expect a strong artistic voice at this stage as I am still exploring but hope it will naturally develop over the course of drawing 1.

Context:

Reflection – Perhaps I should have gone deeper with the final refection but I am keen to move on now.

Research – I researched other artists, ideas, composition, media and techniques as part of assignment two. Thoughts on all of this are recorded in the log blog.

Critical Thinking – I think my critical thinking is improving. Probably still along way to go here. Must fit in more reading to get into the  art critic lingo.

About Emma Perring

Artist, oil painter

Leave a comment

Deb Anderson, painting

One a week, more or less

V.W. Artist Blog

Art awakens the soul.

Kathryn Duncan - Fine Art

Original Watercolor & Acrylic Paintings

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Charleston Through an Artist's eye

a blog about the history art and culture of Charleston and the Lowcountry of the Southern Islands

mycreativeresolution.wordpress.com/

Watercolor Lessons that unlock the artist within you!

LoethenDesign

Faith, Fashion, & Art with an edge!

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Art-Chap-Enjoin

Drawing, sketching, painting every day

Simply Painting

30 Paintings in 30 Days

A Painters Diary

31 Days 31 Paintings

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Funny, exciting and sometimes action-packed vegan-friendly children's comics, stories, picture books and nursery rhymes, FREE TO READ HERE and available in paperback from our bookshop.

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings from the studio of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Beautiful Birds in the Native Habitat

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

Alison MacPherson: Drawing Skills 1

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Capricious Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential