Assignment 2: Final Drawing

assignment2-final

  • A1 paper
  • Ink
  • Charcoal
  • Colour pencil
  • Felt tip

This is the final drawing. Although it wasn’t originally going to be. I have decided to finish part two here as I am months behind my set date to finish. The next section evolves lots of drawing al fresco and the days are getting colder. So its time to get a move on whilst I can sit outside with out freezing.

fig pear

I wanted to further the experimentation with inks. This time I lightly drew the out lines of my fruity subjects in my A4 sketcher. Next I used a large flat brush to cover the fruits surface areas with water. I left an area dry on the lemon hoping it would work as a reflection, which I am pleaded it did. I then dripped ink on to the wet ares and watched the coloured blobs spread and mingle with one another. I tilted the book a little to encourage interesting  drip shapes. I added salt in the hope of getting more texture and left to dry. Then I used the same method for the shadows. I was really happy when a drip escaped the water surface and made a perfect pear stork shadow quite by chance.  I finished them of by flicking a bit of ink about. There’s defiantly something I like in these illustrations and will most certainly be furthering my ink exploits in the future.

fruits

So taken with the ink fruits in the sketch book I set about trying the same approach on a large sheet of wall paper underlay that I often use for large experimental stuff as you can perches a large roll for very little. As you can see I enjoyed the process and got cared away flicking and splashing. Prior to this I had painted around a rectangle which I left white in green ink. I intended this to be a hole that would become the view from the window and the interior I was going to do in chalk as the first drawing I made for assignment two over the green ink. I have found the calks to be very opaque so can cover under colours with ease.

In the end I decided to use the prepped paper for the fruit and bag drawing you see instead. This came about after the OCA trip to Paper at Saatchi gallery. I was sort of in the mind set of being a bit out there, throwing cation to the wind and fancied doing a drawing without to much fore thought just using the exuberant energy that resulted from the excursion.

fruit-bagNext up I drew in the bag the fruits where in in colouring pencil. I thought building up the cross hatching delicately would be a good way to go to depict the thin, flimsy, translucent quality of the bag. When I started I must confess to loosing patients (as you can see). Also being conscious not to take to long over the drawing. I know from the Lilly drawing if I am to create some thing like that it means many many hours of work and time was tight. So I opted for this lose ( I like to think Hokney) style of hatching which was much quicker. Hay, I think you can tell its a bag which is the main thing! I enjoyed drawing in the writhing. Sadly it dose not stretch as far to the left as it should, which is a shame.

I used felt tip to do a spot of stippling on the fruits to give them more definition and form. I think this has worked to brake them up from a homogenous blob into individual fruits.

Finally I used charcoal to mark in the back ground. I wanted to use mono tone so the bag of fruit would be the focus. The perspective and scale is a bit all over the shop but I don’t hate this drawing, though I’m sure many would. Be interesting to here my tutors feed back..

set upI would have liked to have done one more drawing. Including the sink, widow, konk shell, washing liquid bottles, the bag of fruit and maybe even a fish. I would have liked to have experimented with the inks on a thick water colour paper. I’m sure this would leave a more satisfactory result than on the thin reluctantly absorbent wall paper underlay. However now is the time for me to move on from part two. I hope that I have just about done enough for this assignment.

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

2 comments

  1. Love the composition and how you have used the media – leaving it drippy etc. – the darker sketchy background works really well to show off the fruit.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

