Pr6- Check and Log: Drawing Animals

  • The main challenges of drawing animals:
  • The fact the live ones don’t stay still so often is the main barrier. The tip in the course content suggesting working on several drawings at once helped with this and made them moving position less frustrating.
  • The fact I am unfamiliar with there shapes and anatomy (in a drawing sense). In life class I have worked out and researched human structure. Over time I will do this with the animals as I intend to spend more sessions drawing them. I feel the drawings improved just over the two sessions. It will be especially helpful with the horses to look at and copy anatomical drawings of skeleton and muscle. As well as copying the old master drawings I looked at for the research point.
  • Texture could potentially have been a problem. Again the prompt about using the fur mark to show the underling muscles therefore getting both form and texture down in one was a great help.
  • The best media for the subject:
  • I don’t think there is a best media. Just what ever you pick up at the time has different qualities which you must adapt to representing the subject on paper. Different media can create different moods so its up to the artist to choose. Saying that I think sharp points such as pen and pencil are easier when drawing something large like a horse on a small page A4 or A5. I over came this by using an A3 work book. I didn’t get round to using soft pastels which is a shame. I will in future.
  • Where to go to draw more animals:
  • I am at an unfair advantage here as I am lucky enough to work with horses. My parents have dogs. Their neighbours have chickens. There are dear in the fields and in Epping forest I live near. It would take some luck to draw these as you can never be sure of a sighting and for how long. Rabbits in the fields. They tend to leg it pretty quickly. Birds all around. A trip to the zoo or even from out side a taxidermy shop window!
  • Museums and galleries such as the V&A sculpture hall or the National history museum with all its specimens would be a great place to go study anatomies and high art representations in sculpture.
About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

