Pr6-Ex1: Grabbing the chance to draw animals

closedog01

  • For this exercise I used..
  • A3 sketch book
  • ball point pen
  • collection of drawing pencils
  • oil pastel
  • sepia chalk drawing pastel
  • Medium charcoal stick
  • 8b fat Graphite Stick
  • Dilute drawing ink and coffee
  • brown parcel paper

I’v been looking forwards to this exercise ever since I started the course. I am lucky enough to have easy access to both horses and dogs. I wish I had more time on this but as I am behind I gave the exercise aprox 6/7 hours in total. I think the drawings improved as I progressed, which is of course what I want. I approached the exercise like a life class. With quick warm up poses then longer hopefully more detailed ones. I loved this exercise and feel there is so much more to explore and expand on in this area for myself.

For the first session I spent 3 hours drawing the horses I work with different media. I prepared some of the pages with coffee to try and get the aged mottled effect seen in Durer’s ‘A young hare’. I also stuck some brown sugar paper into the A3 book I was working in to see how drawings on these surfaces might turn out.

I went out to the fields where I braved the scorching sun and what seemed be a passing swam of wasps as well as the dazzling glare from the Wight pages. Who new drawing could be so dangerous.

The horses were very interested in what I was doing refusing to stay still. I got a few quick sketches down before moving field to an old horse who was less interested. Here I managed to get some better studies.

I then went to the stables and drew from the more stationary horses.

horse01

Drawing horses in field

horse02

Wombol – grazing

horse04

Wombol – standing in stable yard

horse05

Wombol – head over stable door

horse06

Inky – Black horse eating hay

I found their size and shapes quite challenging. I think I got the proportions ok but fell I would like to spend a lot more time drawing them as there is a lot of room for improvement.

The next day I spent three hours drawing my parents dogs. Starting with Ted the black German shepherd then Tich the yellow lab. Again I prepared some of the pages this time whit ink splots.

I found it easier to get to that feeling of when hand and eye start to really co-operate and the drawing process starts to feel really natural. I’m pleased with how this sessions drawing turned out.

For the final drawing time was getting a bit tight so I worked very quickly. If I was not behind on my assignment 2 deadline I would have left it to another day to do a more considered drawing. However, saying that I am pleased with how the drawing looks and it has reminded me many of my favourite works by other artist capture the essence of the scene not a photo realistic representation. In this way I think we can see the artist in the work. How he she feels about the scene and the circumstances under which the art was created.

I used sepia, white drawing pencils plus a black charcoal pencil and a green/grey colouring pencil on brown parcel paper. I quickly drew in the basic shape as I knew from the prior studies the model would soon change position as he seems to like to sleep flat on his side. Then I focussed on the texture. I like the outcome as a drawing. I am pleased with the anatomy proportions and pose. I think the dog has a weightiness. His shoulders are raised showing the bulky blanket below. Perhaps I should have coloured the hole of the surface the dog is laying on to allow the mid tone parcel paper to act as the colour of the dog alone.

As a likeness it is a total fail as Titch the yellow lab has turned into some sort of hound or lurcher. I used quite long strokes for the fur as I was rushing. This has made it appear longer than it is. The mussel is incorrect for my model. The dog had moved before I had got this in so I guessed at it.

dog01

Ted – the black dog

dog02

Titch – the yellow dog

dog03

Final drawing – Dog on blue blanket

I found the prompts in the course material really useful for this exercise. Working on two or three drawings in tandem is such a handy tip and really works well as the animals move between these limited posed. Also using the fur marks to show the underlying anatomy is effective. I look forward to drawing animals again. Hopefully it is something I will be able to return to later in the course and spend much more time on.

the-model

The Model – holding a great long pose in the garage, what a star!

dogclose02

Viewed from directly above looking down

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

