Pr5-Ex3: Drawing with other coloured media

ex3

  • Aprox A1 sheet of wall paper underlay paper.
  • charcoal
  • conte pencils
  • water soluble colouring pencils
  • fat chiselled permeant marker
  • marker pens
  • oil pastels
  • soft pastels
  • ink

This exercise was a nice way to loosen up after all that detailed colour pencil study. I went for a mark making naive approach here. Experimenting with lots of different media.

My favourite combinations are the charcoal with ink splashed over it. Think I will do a more considered drawing using this technique at some point. Also I love the marks of the chiselled fat marker pen. Looks good with the ink underneath. Again would like to do more considered drawing using both of these together. Was also interesting to use water soluble colour pencils with water for first time. Like to use them again soon, see their capabilities.

close1

Charcoal and ink

close2

Ink and fat chiselled marker pen

Check and Log QUs:

  • What I have learnt experimenting with negative space will make drawing complex natural form like a single plants or a hedgerow slightly easier. This is because some times it makes more sense pick out the negative shapes rather than the positive ones.
  • To make sure I draw the plant in proportion I put in the first flower then used that to scale the rest of the elements. I paid great attention to where one petal ended in relation to the other so as to get a realistic proportion. Again being aware of negative space and using that to measure as well. Foreshortening was the trickery bit. leafs and petals appeared shorter and fatter at the base when protruding towards me. I think/hope I have represented this ok.
  • I archive 3D by the fore shortening. By showing shadow fall and light and dark. I tried to make the back ground objects retreat by making them fainter. See the lilies in the back ground. I used as wider range of hue as was available for the leafs and used dark and light to try to give them all some individuality and therefore suggest a 3D effect. Dept would have been helped by adding the back ground elements.
About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

