Pr4-Ex3: Drawing Using Oil Pastels

2

  • Oil Pastel
  • A3 light grey Ingress paper

I am quite happy with how this one turned out. I do like using oil pastels so was nice to have a chance to use them. In the past I have used them  with a heavier hand so nice to see the results of lightly hatching my way around the composition.

At first I thought I may have made the fruits to small on the page. I think it kind of works. There is nice paths for the eye to walk around in the picture such as the diagonal from front apple thought plate – marrow then up the pineapple, then back to the front via the cloth creases. There is to much negative space top left, the wall. I used different coloured dashes to try to make it more interesting. I used directional marks. Vertical on the wall, diagonal on the table surface and curbed on the fruits to suggest at their plane and from.

The pineapple is a bit week. I over worked it. Should have left it vague as it is in the back ground. I like the marrow which I hardly worked at all. The grey tone of the paper seemed to finish the job for me. The shape is there and it is recognisable so I left it.

I’m happy with the apples. I chose some with beautiful stripy coloured textured skin. Worked well I think. The Tom’s are ok too. The plate – I must work on ellipses. It’s letting me down a bit. I think I will start marking the four conners and join up when trying to depict a true (man made) ellipse.

Building the drawing as a whole

Building the drawing as a whole

I am pleased that I am now naturally building the drawings as a whole rather than working right to left as I used to. It certainly give a more coherent finish. Also I am achieving the same results in a much quicker time. Must be all the practice!

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

