Part 1 and Assignment 1: Personal Evaluation

I’m assessing myself according to the assessment criteria.

Demonstration of technical and visual skills:

I used a range of materials in this assignment .I experimented with mixing different ones together. I could have used a broader array of techniques. I seemed to have missed crossed hatching for this assignment. Also would have liked to have used footage more.

I think I have demonstrated observational skills well. You can see from my studies and finished pieces that I have observed the objects with a scrutinising eye in an attempt to capture every detail.

I think visual awareness is apparent in my work. Especially in observing the subtly of glass.

I am happy my compositions are ok. Of course this is an opinion of the onlooker. I think they are visually balanced and not unnecessarily cropped in any way. I hope I have shown thoughtful layout in my sketch book work.

Quality of Outcome:

I don’t think I produced as much content as was expected. I should have moved to a final large drawing for man made still life. I should have produced one or two A3-A2 studies for the natural still life. However, time wise I am sure I spent adequate hours on each project. If I had have spent time on producing further drawings I would have compromised on the quality of the work as would have had to rush it.

I am happy with my application of knowledge here. I had a clear frame in mind to work to. With in this I feel I showed evidence of skills and awareness I have learnt through out the exercises.

Frame work for assignments:

research – looking at and commenting on in the log blog how other artist have dealt with the challenge of a still life.

choosing a subject – Think about what would work, what would interest me and what the best media and techniques for depicting it would be.

Preliminary studies – Exploring different media and composition.

final piece – a long and considered study of objects.

I found in pervious years when I completed a foundation diploma my approach to be quite muddled. I am pleased that though completing that course I can now work in a far more coherent way. Making easier for myself and any tutor/assessor trying to understand the working process.

I think through the wordpress blog I am using for a log book the work in presented in a coherent manner. The entries are in chronological order so progression is clear. As hand writing is avoided my comments are easy to read.

Perhaps I have shown discernment by selecting what drawing tools and drawing surfaces to use in each section?

I believe I have shown conceptualisation of thought though all studies and constant logging of ideas and thoughts as I progressed through the assignment. This also shows I am communicating my ideas to tutors and assessors when they come to read it.

Demonstration of Creativity:

The most imaginative piece I produced for this assignment was the A1 ink wash study of two bottles which I then covered in charcoal and used the rubber to find high lights. Also perhaps using the slate might be considered imaginative?

The above mentioned pieces also show experimentation. I had no idea how the ink/charcoal bottles would turn out. Part of me wanted to stop after the ink layers as I quite liked it. But in the sprit of experimentation I cracked on and was glad i did so.

I don’t know if it will be consider I have used Invention here. I have not invented any new processed. I think I was more inventive when I started work on a Chuck Close inspired print. I had to come up with many solutions like how to print the ink on the paper etc. For this assignment however there was no need to be as all the methods I used for drawing I uses here are tried and tested. So no I was not inventive here.

A personal voice is some thing that I find very daunting. I think if I tried to fit into one style to force a recognisable voice I would miss all the other processes I could be experimenting with. So unless the voice grows by it’s self I think I’m going to ignore it and just make art the way I feel like at the time.

Context:

I have reflected through out the process in my learning log.

I have shown research in my learning log.

Hopefully I have shown critical thinking in my learning log.

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

