Assignment 1: Studies for Natural still life objects

rose

Felt tip study

I put a fair bit of thought into what to use for the subject matter of the natural still life project. I final settled on a flower arrangement. I have studied individual flowers before but never attempted a still life of a entire arrangement. I thought it would make for a challenging study.

This quick felt tip study I made from a bunch of flowers that where already in the house decided me.

arrangment

Still life arrangement

After that it was a case of setting up the arrangement. I visited a few florists to gain inspiration before deciding on the blooms I wanted. I chose a bunch of yellow roses with purple stocks and a bunch of mixed lisianthus that I love and seem to be every where this year. They came in two different stems. One with lemony, greenish White buds and white with pink trim opened flowers. The other a beautiful rich burgundy bud opening to a burgundy and red/violet flower.

I tried to chose colours that have a relationship with each other. I seemed to remember yellow and violet are complementary and red and green of course. Once home I checked with my trusty colour wheel  and was pleased to see red/violet, yellow and green makes a split complementary. Along with this the yellowed green hues are analogue as are the violets and reds. So harmonies all round. Great!

I toyed with the idea of just laying the flowers on a surface for drawing but released they would wilt pretty quick with out water not leaving sufficient time to draw them so this option was out. I knew I had to add a vase although no a natural object. I settled on a green glass one to revel the stems and fit with the colour scheme. I set the arraignment on a small table covered in a white sheet. I set a lamp up to give greater contrast of light so the shadow arrears where more defined.

Next i set up an easel and drawing board about 2 meters away. From this view point I was looking from a 45ish degree angle to the arrangement that was below my eye line.

I dashed of some quick thumbnails and study to work out proportions deliberately working as quickly as I could. I am conscious that I am a slow worker and will try to speed up on  the course where possible so I can stick to my target of completing Drawing 1: drawing skills in one year.

thums-natural

  • A4 sketcher
  • Charcoal
  • Soft Pastel
  • Sienna drawing pencil
About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

