Pr6-Ex1: Experimenting Texture Ex2: Drawing with Texture

Exercise 1- Experimenting with texture

Exercise 1-Experimenting with texture

Here I used different drawing tools for these square textural studies. Before moving on to take some fottage rubbing of textured surfaces round the house.

fottage

Exercise 1 – Fottage

For exercise two I began by taking a rubbing using soft charcoal sticks of a brick wall. I though it might lead to an interesting back ground texture. The result is interesting. Not quite what I had expected. The stroke marks are short and furious due to the fact I only had very tine charcoal sticks and I was working as quickly as possible as my hands were turning to icicles in this loverly spring weather we are having. Any way I like the over all effect.

texture

Exercise 2 – Fottage of brick wall on its side

I pinned the paper to a drawing board and attached it to an easel before arranging my objects.

texture-objects

Exercise 2 – Objects

I then proceeded to draw in the object shapes using a rubber to rub away the charcoal. I took the most off the high light areas on the pots and to show the reflections on the canvas behind.

t

Exercise 2 – Rubbing out

I was interested to see how ink would work with charcoal. I wondered if applied over the image in places would the high light and shadow areas still work? I used a cut rubber in a triangle shape to stamp in the shape of the Hyde ranger petals. I used a silicon spatular to add the rest of the ink to the piece. Finally I flicked a little ink in the foliage to try to add to the texture of the plants.

p6-ex2texture

Exercise 2 – Adding ink colour

  • Approximately A2 paper
  • Charcoal – thin willow sticks
  • Drawing inks
  • Rubber stamp
  • Silicon spatular (thin)

In hind sight If I did it again I would leave the grasses white. I think they would complement the black leafs of the Hyde ranger that way. Plus they just looked ore interesting white and worked better with the textured back drop than they do in colour. It was an experimental process to learn from.

tex

White grasses

From these exercises I have learned the skys the limit. There are many thousands of ways for depicting surface texture. It’s a case of trill and error. Something will work and some won’t.

The form of the pots is described by there out line shape and the high light and shadow areas. Also the cast shadows ground them and show there 3d form.

I think there’s much potential for further experimentation with fottage. I find the process quite unpredictable, which I like. The results are never turn out the way I expect. The patter combined with the marks made by the hand moving the drawing tool are very interesting. They can add character, movement and mood to a piece. I Think you can see this in the jug and pot still life for exercise two. I especially like the way the lies travel along then up and off the drawing surface. Perhaps I should have echoed that flow in the foliage. Would have been a nice effect.

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

