Pr2-Ex1: Boxes and Books Ex2: Jars and Jugs

p2ex101

Exercise 1, Boxes and Books

This exercise was about seeing perspective correctly. I gathered a heap of books and boxes of various shapes and sizes and arranged them on the floor. I then lay on the floor so my eye line was pretty much level with the arrangement.

.

.

Observation:

  • Drawing a bit tricky lying on your front.
  • My brain kept trying to trick me when it came to fore shortening. The tops of the objects from my view point became shorter than the side.
  • Even though in reality  they are longer. It took me a while to really listen to my eye and just draw what I saw. Not what I knew about the physicality of the object.
p2ex102

Exercise 1, Boxes and Books

.

In this image I have noted where the eye line is. It shows the changing perspective when looking down and then up objects.

p2ex201

Exercise 2, Jars and Jugs

.

.

.

.

.

I used an A3 pad to complete three drawings of this collection of cylindrical objects.

This time I arranged them on a table for the first drawing and sat in front of them. I used a hb pencil pen to ensure a consistent sharp point.

For the second view I arranged the items on the floor and looked down on them. The ellipse really opened up becoming nearly circular.

p2ex202

Exercise 2, Jars and Jugs, looking down

p2ex303

Exercise 2, Jars and Jugs, Pen

For the final Drawing I used Pen.

Some unfortunate cropping accrued as I started the composition too far left. Also the distance between the objects is not quite correct. In life they where more portrait in composition. The visual distance from the front mug to the back vase is grater than you see here. The items became bunched. Had I started in pencil I would have made the corrections.

Some thing to bare in mid for future studies.

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

