Window Sill

happy-sill

Start Date:15.02.2013 Finish Date: 17.02.2013

Oil on canvas, 10″x10″

Colours used: Windsor & Newton Winton, Ultramarine Blue, Cadmium Yellow Pale Hue, Alizarin Crimson and Zinc White.

IMG_0482_2523

I Started off drawing a quick pencil sketch to work out how the shapes work together and to assess the perspective.

I was draw to the window sill scene particularly because of the contrasting light and shadow between  wall plains. Also the way the light shines through the blooms and foliage.

IMG_0484_2526

I blocked in the shapes using thinned Alizarin Crimson. I decided to crop in closer than I had done in the drawing, so I could make the pots and plants large enough to add further detail without getting to small and fiddily.

IMG_0485_2527

Then I colour blocked the larger shapes. Mixing all the colours needed from the three primary colours + white pallet. This is my second attempt at using just a red,blue and yellow + white. I read in a great book ‘Fill your Oil Painting with Colour and Light’ by Kevin Mcpherson a current American Plein Air painter, that it’s the most straight forward way to create a colour harmony. Having tried it a couple of times now I would have to agree. Not to mention it saves money not buying every hue available.

The rest of the time I spent filling in the detail. I reckon about 10-15 hours in all was spent painting. I didn’t want to make it to tight as I wanted a suggestive brush strokes rather than photographic representation.

IMG_0527_2495

The end result. Although I think I will revisit the orange buds left,top,centre. They had dropped off by the time I got to them so I had to make them up. I think they could do with a little more shaping. I think perhaps it’s a little darker than I had hoped. The light in the scene was what drew me to it and I really wanted to capture that light airy feel. So I think its a touch to dark and heavy. However that said I did colour match from life and tried to be accrete to what was in front of me. Those leafs really are very dark in places where shadowed from the sun.

I’m pleased with the composition. The white and red pot is about on the three quarter mark. The pots and the flower heads make a nice journey for the eye to follow round the image. I’m glad I got a bit of the empty wall in. I think it’s a nice contrast from the busy window sill as well as helping to show the sill is a sunny place.

I am preferring painting from life rather than photos at present. The colours have much more diversity and are as they really are when seen by the eye. Once they go through a lenses, camera , computer and printer they are all wrong.

Now on to the drawing for the start of Creative Arts Degree..

About Emma Perring

I am an artist working in mainly soft pastel at present.

Leave a Reply

Oil and Pen

Paintings, Writings, and Life After College

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The Scratchboard Comic Project

an ongoing comic project by Karin Gafvelin

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Wayne Burrows

Blog and website of Wayne Burrows

Garth Bayley Artist

Musings of a working artist

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Yeshua's Child Art

Art that Expresses the Heart

Amy Walsh-Harris

Thoughts on my work.

drawthepublic

illustrator Russell Jackson

odsanfineart

Beautiful oil paintings to light up your life

alison512480

My Learning Log - Drawing 1

OCA Ektah Maha

my oca art work and assignment

The Weekly Muse by Susan Martin Spar

Paintings by Fine Artist Susan Martin Spar

Leanne Thomas Paintings

Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts

Alexa Cox Studio

#art #painting #drawing #pages #energy #movement #emerging #disappearing #potential

isbrytare

Your flesh is my convenience

Lucy Duke

watercolour pastel artist

Book Press Printing

OCA Printmaking 1 Learning Log

OCA Painting 1 Learning Log

An online learning log for OCA Painting 1 - The Practice of Painting

animalartresource

Just another WordPress.com site

Arlene Sharp: OCA Painting 1: Practice of Painting

Open College of the Arts Learning Log Student no. 509550

ralfking

My search for creativity

Alexandra Gallagher

A scrapbook of things I like, my work and everything else

BUSY BRUSH CAFE

a self-taught artist discusses acrylic painting, photoshop and the creative process.

London Drawing

London Drawing: Drawing Performance Creativity

